Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the Contact Us page.

National Fish Contaminants Monitoring and Surveillance Program

Program Overview

Environment Canada scientists preparing the benthic sled to collect organisms such as Diporeia hoyi and Mysis diluviana | © EC Photo: Michael Keir
Environment Canada scientists preparing the benthic sled
to collect organisms such as Diporeia hoyi and Mysis diluviana

The Fish Contaminants Monitoring and Surveillance Program (FCMSP) began in 1977. The purpose of the program is to survey collectively, the concentration of contaminants in selected species of fish and other biota with the specific objective of determining environmental trends in contaminant levels and to relate these to sources of such pollution, the effectiveness of remedial actions, and the risk to fish and fish-consuming wildlife in aquatic ecosystems across Canada.

For much of the program’s history, the focus of monitoring activities has been centred in the Canadian waters of the Great Lakes to meet Canada’s obligation under Annex 12 Section 4 of the Canada-U.S. Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement (GLWQA). Activities in the Great Lakes are coordinated with those of a similar program operated by the United States Environmental Protection Agency (U.S. EPA) in U.S. waters to ensure minimal duplication of effort and basin-wide coverage. Together, Environment Canada and the U.S. EPA have been monitoring the concentration and trends of priority pollutants such as mercury and polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs) in the tissues of fishes since 1977. The results are included in reports from the State of the Lakes Ecosystem Conference (SOLEC) and the Binational Toxics Strategy (BTS).

Map showing fish contaminant monitoring locations in the Great Lakes basin

Map showing fish contaminant monitoring locations in the Great Lakes basin © Environment Canada

In 2006, the program was expanded under Canada’s Chemicals Management Plan (CMP) to include water bodies situated across Canada including the Great Lakes. The CMP aims to improve the degree of protection against hazardous chemicals through implementation of new measures to ensure that chemical substances are managed properly. The FCMSP provides data on the concentrations of contaminants of emerging concern, such as polybrominated diphenyl ethers (PBDEs) and perfluorooctane sulfonate (PFOS), in the environment and their propensity to bioaccumulate to inform risk assessments under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act (CEPA) and from which to assess the effectiveness of regulations aimed at reducing the concentrations of contaminants in the environment. 

Map showing fish contaminant monitoring locations across Canada © Environment Canada

Target Species

Predatory and long-lived species of fish are ideal for contaminant biomonitoring as they accumulate pollutants both from the surrounding water and their prey through processes known to scientists as bioaccumulation and biomagnification. Lake trout (Salvelinus namaycush) are an ideal species for contaminant monitoring because they are top predators, long-lived, have high lipid content and are found across Canada. In areas where lake trout do not occur other predatory species such as walleye (Sander vitreus) are targeted instead.

Pollutant levels in top predators provide an indication of the magnitude and spatial extent of environmental contamination but do not provide much information on the routes by which chemicals enter the environment, and the animals that live in it. For this reason, the FCMSP employs a food web based approach in which key components of the aquatic food web are also collected for contaminant analyses. These components include: forage fishes, benthic invertebrates, and plankton.

Changes to food webs, caused either by human impacts, changing climate, or invasive species, can also affect the cycling of contaminants in the environment. By monitoring using a food web approach these effects can be accounted for.

Collection Methods

In the Great Lakes, all sample collection occurs on board the CCGS Kelso. Smaller vessels are used in other bodies of water across Canada. Specimens are collected using the following methods:

  • Top predators – bottom set gill nets
  • Forage fishes – bottom trawl/small mesh gill net
  • Benthos – benthic sled/sediment sampler
  • Plankton – 150-um mesh plankton net

Environment Canada scientists collecting fish on the Lake Ontario | © EC Photo: Daryl McGoldrick
Environment Canada scientists collecting fish on the Lake Ontario

All fish are identified to species, measured, weighed and aged (when possible). All fish are then frozen until they can be processed in the laboratory.

In the lab, large predatory fish (e.g., lake trout) are homogenized whole. Smaller forage fishes (e.g., rainbow smelt) are combined by length, then homogenized whole to form composite samples. A maximum of 20 sub-samples are generated for each individual or composite sample, some of which are sent for chemical analyses and the rest are stored in a specimen bank.

Consistent with the goal of the FCMSP, the use of whole body homogenates provides a measure of total body burden and overall environmental contamination and differentiates the FCMSP from a similar program operated by the Province of Ontario which provides guidance on the consumption of fish by measuring contaminants in the muscle (fillet) only.

Measured Parameters

Environment Canada scientists preparing gill nets used to capture lake trout from the Great Lakes | © EC Photo: Daryl McGoldrick
Environment Canada scientists preparing gill nets used
to capture lake trout from the Great Lakes

Specific measures and chemical analyses performed by the FCMSP vary dependant on current priorities. Following are some of the parameters measured in recent years:

Biophysical Parameters

  • Weight, length, sex, age, percent lipid

Organochlorine Compounds

  • α-chlordane, γ-chlordane, dieldrin, p,p'-DDE, o,p'-DDT, p,p'-DDD, heptachlor epoxide, hexachlorobenzene, lindane, mirex, total polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs)

Trace Metals

  • Aluminum, antimony, arsenic, barium, beryllium, bismuth, caesium, chromium, cobalt, copper, gallium, iron, lanthanum, lead, lithium, manganese, mercury, molybdenum, nickel, rubidium, selenium, silver, strontium, thallium, tin, uranium, vanadium, zinc

Chemicals of Emerging Concern

Ecological Tracers

  • Stable isotope ratios (δ13C, δ15N)
  • Fatty acid methyl ethers (FAMEs)

Environmental Specimen Bank

A key component of Environment Canada’s FCMSP is the National Aquatic Biological Specimen Bank (NABSB). Sub-samples of all biota collected in our monitoring activities are kept and stored at -80°C for future use.

Recent Publications

Gewurtz, S.B., D.J. McGoldrick, M.G. Clark, M.J. Keir, M.M. Malecki, M. Gledhill, M. Sekela, J. Syrgiannis, M.S. Evans, A. Armellin, J. Pomeroy, J. Waltho, and S.M. Backus. 2011. Status and trends of PBDEs in Canadian fish and implications for long-term monitoring. Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry. 30(7): 1564-1575.

Gewurtz, S.B., S.M. Backus, S.P. Bhavsar, D.J. McGoldrick, S.R. de Solla, E.W. Murphy. 2011. Contaminant biomonitoring programs in the Great Lakes region: A review of approaches and critical factors. Environmental Reviews. 19:162-184.

Bhavsar, S.P., S.B. Gewurtz, D.J. McGoldrick, M.J. Keir and S.M. Backus. 2010. Changes in mercury levels in great lakes fish between 1970s and 2007. Environmental Science and Technology 44: 3273-3279.

McGoldrick, D.J., M.G. Clark, M.J. Keir, S.M. Backus and M.M. Malecki. 2010. Canada's national aquatic biological specimen bank and database. Journal of Great Lakes Research 36(2): 393-398.

Gewurtz, S.B., R. Lega, P.W. Crozier, D.M. Whittle, L. Fayez, E.J. Reiner, P.A. Helm, C.H. Marvin and G.T. Tomy. 2009. Factors influencing trends of polychlorinated naphthalenes and other dioxin-like compounds in lake trout (Salvelinus namaycush) from Lake Ontario, North America (1979-2004). Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry 28: 921-930.

Ismail, N., S.B. Gewurtz, K. Pleskach, M. Whittle, P.A. Helm, C.H. Marvin and G.T. Tomy. 2009. Brominated and chlorinated flame retardants in Lake Ontario, Canada, lake trout (Salvelinus namaycush) between 1979 and 2004 and possible influences of food-web changes. Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry 28: 910-920.

Paterson, G., D.M. Whittle, K.G. Drouillard and G.D. Haffner. 2009. Declining lake trout (Salvelinus namaycush) energy density: are there too many salmonid predators in the Great Lakes? Canadian Journal of Fisheries and Aquatic Sciences 66: 919-932.

Data

All biological, physical and chemical data generated by the FCMSP are maintained in a database at the Canada Centre for Inland Waters in Burlington, Ontario.

For more information about the program, sampling methods, or to request data please send your inquiries to: NABSB@ec.gc.ca.

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Le programme national de suivi et de surveillance des contaminants dans le poisson

Aperçu

Scientifiques d’Environnement Canada préparant le traîneau à benthos afin de prélever des organismes tels que Diporeia hoyi et Mysis diluviana (Crédit: Michael Keir) © EC
Scientifiques d’Environnement Canada préparant le
traîneau à benthos afin de prélever des organismes
tels que Diporeia hoyi et Mysis diluviana

Le programme de monitoring et de surveillance des contaminants dans le poisson (PMSCP) a débuté en 1977. Le but de ce programme est d’étudier collectivement la concentration de contaminants dans des espèces choisies de poisson et d’autres biotes avec l’objectif spécifique de déterminer les tendances environnementales dans les niveaux de contaminants et de les relier aux sources d’une telle pollution, d’évaluer l’efficacité des mesures correctrices, et le risque envers le poisson et la faune piscicole dans les écosystèmes aquatiques à travers le Canada.

Depuis les débuts du programme, les activités de suivi se sont concentrées dans les eaux canadiennes des Grands Lacs afin de remplir les obligations du Canada dans le cadre de la Section 4 de l’Annexe 12 de l’Accord relatif à la qualité de l'eau dans les Grands Lacs  (AQEGL) entre le Canada et les États-Unis. Les activités dans les Grands Lacs sont coordonnées avec celles d’un programme comparable mené par la United States Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA) dans les eaux américaines afin d’assurer une duplication minimale de l’effort et la couverture du bassin entier. Ensemble, Environnement Canada et la USEPA ont effectué le suivi des concentrations et des tendances de polluants prioritaires tels que le mercure et les biphényles polychlorés (BPCs) dans les chairs de poisson depuis 1977. Les résultats sont inclus dans les rapports de la Conférence sur l'état de l'écosystème des Grand Lacs (CÉÉGL) et de la Stratégie binationale des toxiques  (SBT).

Carte indiquant les stations de monitoring des contaminants dans le poisson dans le bassin des Grands Lacs

Carte indiquant les stations de monitoring des contaminants dans le poisson dans le bassin des Grands Lacs © Environnement Canada

En 2006, le programme a été élargi dans le cadre du Plan de gestion des substances chimiques (PGSC) du Canada afin d’inclure les plans d’eau localisés à travers le Canada, incluant les Grands Lacs. Le PGSC vise à améliorer le degré de protection contre les substances chimiques dangereuses via la mise en oeuvre de nouvelles mesures afin d’assurer que les substances chimiques soient gérées adéquatement. Le PMSCP fournit des données sur les concentrations des contaminants devenant préoccupants, tels que les éthers diphényliques polybromés (EDPB) et le perfluorooctanesulfonate (SPFO), dans l’environnement et leur propension à biocumuler afin de fournir de l’information servant aux évaluations des risques dans le cadre de la Loi canadienne de protection de l’environnement (LCPE) et selon lesquelles l’efficacité de la réglementation visant à réduire les concentrations des contaminants dans l’environnement est évaluée.

Carte indiquant les stations de monitoring des contaminants dans le poisson à travers le Canada © Environnement Canada

Espèces cibles

Les espèces prédatrices et longévives de poisson sont idéales pour le suivi biologique des contaminants alors qu’elles accumulent les polluants de l’eau environnante et de leur proie via les processus connus scientifiquement comme la biocumulation et la bioamplification. Le touladi (Salvelinus namaycush) est une espèce idéale pour le suivi biologique parce qu’il est un prédateur de niveau trophique supérieur, est longévif, et possède un contenu lipidique élevé, et qu’il est présent à travers le Canada. Dans des secteurs où le touladi est absent, d’autres espèces telles que le doré jaune (Sander vitreus) sont à défaut ciblées.

Les niveaux de polluants dans les prédateurs de niveau trophique supérieur fournissent une indication de la magnitude et de l’étendue spatiale de la contamination environnementale, mais ils ne donnent pas beaucoup d’information par rapport aux voies via lesquelles les substances chimiques entrent dans l’environnement, et par rapport aux animaux y vivant. Pour cette raison, le PMSCP utilise une approche axée sur le réseau trophique au sein de laquelle les composantes clés du réseau trophique aquatique sont aussi prélevées aux fins des analyses de contaminants. Ces composantes incluent : les poissons proies, les invertébrés benthiques, et le plancton.

Les changements aux réseaux trophiques, causés par les impacts humains, le changement climatique, ou les espèces envahissantes, peuvent aussi affecter le cycle des contaminants dans l’environnement. Ces effets peuvent être pris en compte en menant un suivi utilisant une approche axée sur le réseau trophique.

Méthodes de prélèvement

Dans les Grands Lacs, tous les échantillons sont prélevés à bord du NGCC Kelso. De plus petits vaisseaux sont utilisés dans d’autres plans d’eau à travers le Canada. Les spécimens sont prélevés selon les méthodes suivantes :

  • Prédateurs de niveau trophique supérieur – filets maillants calés
  • Poissons proies – filet de fond / filets à petites mailles
  • Benthos – traîneau à benthos / échantillonneur à sédiments
  • Plancton – 150μm filet maillant à plancton

Scientifiques d’Environnement Canada prélevant du poisson dans le lac © EC Ontario (Crédit: Daryl McGoldrick)
Scientifiques d’Environnement Canada prélevant du poisson dans le lac

Tous les poissons sont identifiés à l’espèce, mesurés et pesés, et leur âge est déterminé (lorsque possible). Tous les poissons sont alors congelés jusqu’à ce qu’ils puissent être traités dans le laboratoire.

Dans le laboratoire, les poissons prédateurs de grande taille (i.e., le touladi) sont homogénéisés entiers, les poissons proies de plus petite taille (i.e., l’ éperlan) sont combinés selon la longueur, puis homogénéisés entiers pour produire des échantillons composites. Un maximum de 20 sous-échantillons est produit pour chaque échantillon individuel ou composite, certains desquels sont envoyés pour les analyses chimiques, et les autres sont entreposés dans une banque de spécimens

En conformité au but du PMSCP, l’usage des homogénats entiers fournit une mesure de la charge corporelle totale et de la contamination environnementale générale et différencie le PMSCP d’un programme comparable mené par la Province de l’Ontario qui formule des directives quant à la consommation du poisson en mesurant les contaminants dans le muscle (filet) seulement.

Ce que nous mesurons

Scientifiques d’Environnement Canada préparant les filets maillants utilisés pour capturer le touladi dans les Grands Lacs (Crédit: Daryl McGoldrick)  © EC
Scientifiques d’Environnement Canada préparant les filets
maillants utilisés pour capturer le touladi dans les Grands Lacs

Les mesures spécifiques et les analyses chimiques produites par le PMSCP varient selon les priorités courantes. Voici la liste de certains paramètres mesurés au cours des années récentes :

Paramètres biophysiques

  • Poids, longueur, sexe, âge, % de lipides

Composés organochlorés

  • α-chlordane, γ-chlordane, dieldrine, p,p'-DDE, o,p'-DDT, p,p'-DDD, heptachlor époxyde, hexachlorobenzène, lindane, mirex, biphényles polychlorés totaux (BPCs)

Métaux traces

  • Aluminium, antimoine, arsenic, baryum, béryllium, bismuth, césium, chrome, cobalt, cuivre, gallium, fer, lanthane, plomb, lithium, manganèse, mercure, molybdène, nickel, rubidium, sélénium, argent, strontium, thallium, étain, uranium, vanadium, zinc

Substances chimiques devenant préoccupantes

Traceurs écologiques

  • Ratios isotopes stables (δ13C, δ15N)
  • Acides gras oxydes de diméthyle (AGOD)

Banque environnementale de spécimens

Le Base de données et Banque nationale de spécimens biologiques aquatiques du Canada est une composante clé du PMSCP d’Environnement Canada.  Les sous-échantillons de tout le biote prélevé lors de nos activités de suivi sont gardés et entreposés à -80 °C pour l’usage futur. Plus amples informations sur le Base de données et Banque nationale de spécimens biologiques aquatiques du Canada.

Publications récentes utilisant les données générées par le PMSCP

Gewurtz, S.B., D.J. McGoldrick, M.G. Clark, M.J. Keir, M.M. Malecki, M. Gledhill, M. Sekela, J. Syrgiannis, M.S. Evans, A. Armellin, J. Pomeroy, J. Waltho, and S.M. Backus. 2011. Status and trends of PBDEs in Canadian fish and implications for long-term monitoring. Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry. 30(7): 1564-1575.

Gewurtz, S.B., S.M. Backus, S.P. Bhavsar, D.J. McGoldrick, S.R. de Solla, E.W. Murphy. 2011. Contaminant biomonitoring programs in the Great Lakes region: A review of approaches and critical factors. Environmental Reviews. 19:162-184.

Bhavsar, S.P., S.B. Gewurtz, D.J. McGoldrick, M.J. Keir and S.M. Backus. 2010. Changes in mercury levels in great lakes fish between 1970s and 2007. Environmental Science and Technology 44: 3273-3279.

McGoldrick, D.J., M.G. Clark, M.J. Keir, S.M. Backus and M.M. Malecki. 2010. Canada's national aquatic biological specimen bank and database. Journal of Great Lakes Research 36(2): 393-398.

Gewurtz, S.B., R. Lega, P.W. Crozier, D.M. Whittle, L. Fayez, E.J. Reiner, P.A. Helm, C.H. Marvin and G.T. Tomy. 2009. Factors influencing trends of polychlorinated naphthalenes and other dioxin-like compounds in lake trout (Salvelinus namaycush) from Lake Ontario, North America (1979-2004). Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry 28: 921-930.

Ismail, N., S.B. Gewurtz, K. Pleskach, M. Whittle, P.A. Helm, C.H. Marvin and G.T. Tomy. 2009. Brominated and chlorinated flame retardants in Lake Ontario, Canada, lake trout (Salvelinus namaycush) between 1979 and 2004 and possible influences of food-web changes. Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry 28: 910-920.

Paterson, G., D.M. Whittle, K.G. Drouillard and G.D. Haffner. 2009. Declining lake trout (Salvelinus namaycush) energy density: are there too many salmonid predators in the Great Lakes? Canadian Journal of Fisheries and Aquatic Sciences 66: 919-932.

Gestion de l’information

Toutes les données biologiques, physiques et chimiques générées par le PMSCP sont maintenues dans une base de données au Centre canadien des eaux intérieures à Burlington, en Ontario.

Pour de plus amples informations sur le programme, les méthodes d’échantillonnage, ou pour des requêtes de données, veuillez s’il vous plaît faire parvenir vos demandes à l’adresse suivante : ec.msqeinformation-wqmsinformation.ec@canada.ca.

Date de modification :