Great Lakes Precipitation Network

Sampling Station at Burnt Island | © EC - Photo: Bruce HarrisonA 1969 International Joint Commission Report stated that very little information existed about the contribution of atmospheric inputs to the chemical budgets of Lake Ontario and Lake Erie. The Great Lakes Precipitation Network (GLPN) was thus initiated by Environment Canada, with a few “bulk” precipitation collectors along the shores of Lake Ontario. Over the next two years, other stations were established on lakes Erie, Huron and Superior. With the signing of the Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement between Canada and the U.S. in 1972, there was a greater concern for the present and future water quality of all of the Great Lakes. In response, the network expanded and evolved to monitor the long-term status and trends of nutrients throughout the Great Lakes Basin. For the next several years, data from bulk precipitation collected by the GLPN revealed that rain and snow were important contributors of nutrients to these lakes. In 1979, the network changed to wet-only precipitation collectors to eliminate contamination and evaporation in the measurement of the concentrations of trace metals, nutrients and major ions. A trace organic precipitation network was initiated in 1985. In 1994, the two networks were amalgamated to form a nine station network. The network contributes to the Binational Integrated Atmospheric Deposition Network (IADN).

IADN was created under the Canada-U.S. Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement. Annex 15 of the revised 1987 Canada-U.S. Great Lakes Water Agreement states that the parties shall conduct research, surveillance and monitoring and implement pollution control measures for the purpose of reducing atmospheric deposition of toxic substances to the Great Lakes Basin ecosystem. The United States Environmental Protection Agency and Environment Canada each implement an integrated and coordinated air and precipitation monitoring program at selected sites. The main goal of this network is to determine, with a specified degree of confidence, the atmospheric loadings and trends (both spatial and temporal) of priority toxic chemicals to the Great Lakes and its basin. It is also the network’s responsibility to identify “emerging problems” in atmospheric pollution in the Great Lakes Basin.

Presently the GLPN consists of eight active sampling sites. Two of the sites are IADN master stations: Burnt Island and Point Petre. The other six are referred to as satellite stations: Sibley, St. Clair, Burlington, University of Toronto, Point Pelee, and Rock Point.

Map of Great Lakes Precipitation Network sample sites in the Great Lakes Basin

Map of Great Lakes Precipitation Network

The sites are generally paired as suburban/rural and are generally located at opposite ends of the lake to allow for more accurate loadings estimates.

The general requirements are that a sampling site should not be affected by local sources; it requires 120V electric power, it should have a dedicated operator and it should be easily accessible year round. The sites were chosen for their proximity to the lakes and are deemed to be regionally representative of each lake basin.

Sibley is located within Sleeping Giant Provincial Park on the north shore of Lake Superior. Burnt Island is located on the north shore of Manitoulin Island on Lake Huron. These sites are far removed from industrial and urban centres. The St. Clair site is located at the St. Clair Wild Life Research centre on the east shore of Lake St. Clair. The two stations on Lake Erie are located at Point Pelee and Rock Point. Point Pelee is located at the southwestern end of Lake Erie in Pelee National Park on the mainland. Rock Point is also a provincial park on the northeastern shore of Lake Erie. St. Clair and Point Pelee are both downwind of the major industrial centres and heavily industrialized regions of the Detroit/Windsor and Sarnia areas. The Burlington and Point Petre sites are both located on Lake Ontario. Burlington is located at the western end of the lake, halfway up the Niagara escarpment, within sight of Toronto and within the influence of the steel mills in Hamilton. Point Petre is located at the northeastern end of the lake in a rural location. The sampling station at the University of Toronto is the Canadian urban location for IADN.

Inorganic precipitation sampler at Burlington siteAt each sampling site, a wet-only precipitation collector is employed to collect wet/frozen precipitation. There are two types of samplers. The MIC type-A sampler collects precipitation in a pre-cleaned polyethylene bucket. At the end of each calendar month, the sample is emptied into a clean polyethylene bottle and the bucket is replaced with a clean one. The sample and the bucket are sent to the Water Quality Monitoring and Surveillance (WQMS) laboratory for processing and cleaning. At the laboratory, the sample volume is measured, subdivided, (preserved, if necessary) and submitted to the analytical laboratory for nutrient, major ion and metal analyses. The bottle and the bucket are cleaned and sent back to the station for sample collection.

Organic precipitation sampler at the St. Clair siteThe MIC type-B sampler is equipped with a stainless steel square funnel. An insulated cabin under the funnel houses the 4-L amber glass sampling bottles required for organic analysis. The temperature of the cabinet is maintained above freezing during the winter months by a thermostatically controlled electric heater. Each sample bottle is prefilled with 250 mL of high purity grade methylene chloride to preserve the sample throughout the collection and storage period. Bottles are changed when they are full or otherwise at the end of the one-month collection period. Samples are kept at 4oC until analyzed. The list of persistent chemical contaminants being monitored include: organochlorine pesticides, polyaromatic hydrocarbons, PCBs, flame retardants, and PFOS. All samples, both organic and inorganic, are analyzed at the National Laboratory for Environmental Testing (NLET) at the Canada Centre for Inland Waters in Burlington, Ontario.

List of analytes measured at different locations.  PCBs: polychlorinated biphenyls; OC: organochlorine pesticides; PAH: polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons; FR: flame retardants; TM: trace metals; MI: major ions; Nuts: nutrients
StationStation TypeSampler TypeAnalytes Measured
Point PetreIADN Masterprecipitation collector type-A
precipitation collector type-B
PCB, OC, PAH, FR, PFOS, TM, MI, Nuts
Burnt IslandIADN Masterprecipitation collector type-A
precipitation collector type-B
OC, FR, PFOS, TM, MI, Nuts
Sibley Provincial ParkSatelliteprecipitation collector type-A
precipitation collector type-B
OC, FR, PFOS, TM, MI, Nuts
BurlingtonSatelliteprecipitation collector type-A
precipitation collector type-B
OC, PAH, FR, TM, MI, Nuts
St. ClairSatelliteprecipitation collector type-A
precipitation collector type-B
OC, FR, TM, MI, Nuts
TorontoSatellite (IADN urban)precipitation collector type-A
precipitation collector type-B
OC, PCB, PAH, FR
Point PeleeSatelliteprecipitation collector type-ATM, MI, Nuts
Rock PointSatelliteprecipitation collector type-ATM, MI, Nuts

The Great Lakes Precipitation Network is operated out of the Ontario office of Water Quality Monitoring and Surveillance (WQMS). Here project leaders, technical and field staff coordinate the maintenance of sampling equipment and timely sample collection and analysis. Although there have been numerous changes in sampling sites, sampling equipment, sampling protocol and analytical methods, the GLPN holds a unique and extensive data set on chemical contaminants in precipitation for the Canadian Great Lakes Basin.

The Great Lakes Precipitation Network (GLPN) Inorganic Methods Measured

  • Metals, monthly integrated samples, unfiltered. Ag, Al, As, B, Ba, Be, Bi, Cd, Co, Cr, Cu, Fe, Ga, La, Li, Mn, Mo, Ni, Pb, Rb, Sb, Se, Sr, Tl, U, V, Zn
  • Major Ions, monthly integrated samples, unfiltered. Ca, Mg, Na, K
  • Chloride & Sulfate, monthly integrated samples, unfiltered. Cl, SO4
  • Nutrients, montlhly integrated samples, unfiltered. NO3, NO2, NH3, Total Kjeldahl N, Total P
  • Physicals, monthly integrated samples, unfiltered. pH, Conductivity

For more information about the program, sampling methods, or to request data please send your inquiries to: GLPN-RPGL@ec.gc.ca.

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Réseau des précipitations des Grands Lacs

Sites d’échantillonnage à Burnt Island: © EC - Photo : Bruce HarrisonUn rapport de 1969 de la Commission mixte internationale a énoncé que très peu d’information était disponible quant à la contribution des apports atmosphériques aux bilans chimiques des lacs Ontario et Érié.  Le Réseau des précipitations des Grands Lacs (RPGL) a alors été initié par Environnement Canada, avec quelques collecteurs de précipitation “en vrac” le long des rives du lac Ontario. Au cours des deux années suivantes, d’autres stations ont été établies sur les lacs Érié, Huron et Supérieur.  Suite à la signature de lAccord relatif à la qualité de l'eau dans les Grands Lacs entre le Canada et les États-Unis en 1972, la qualité de l’eau actuelle et future de tous les Grands Lacs a suscité une plus grande préoccupation.  En réponse à cela, le réseau s’est élargi et a évolué de façon à contrôler l’état et les tendances à long terme des nutriments à travers le bassin des Grands Lacs. Au cours des années suivantes, les données sur les précipitations en vrac recueillies par le RPGL ont révélé que la pluie et la neige étaient d’importants contributeurs en nutriments pour ces lacs.  En 1979, le réseau a changé pour des collecteurs de précipitation CMI humide seulement afin d’éliminer la contamination et l’évaporation lors de la mesure des concentrations des métaux traces, des nutriments et des ions majeurs.  Un réseau de précipitations organiques traces a été initié en 1985.  En 1994, les deux réseaux ont été amalgamés afin de constituer un réseau de neuf stations.  Le réseau contribue au Réseau binational de mesure des dépôts atmosphériques (RIDA).

Le RIDA a été créé dans le cadre de l’Accord relatif à la qualité de l'eau dans les Grands Lacs entre le Canada et les États-Unis.  L’annexe 15 de l’Accord révisé en 1987 stipule que les parties doivent mener la recherche, la surveillance et le monitoring, et doivent mettre en oeuvre les mesures de contrôle de la pollution dans le but de réduire le dépôt atmosphérique de substances toxiques à l’écosystème du bassin des Grands Lacs.  La United States Environmental Protection Agency et Environnement Canada ont tous deux mis en oeuvre un programme intégré et coordonné de monitoring de l’air et des précipitations à des sites choisis.  Le but principal de ce réseau est de déterminer, selon un niveau de confiance spécifié, les charges atmosphériques et les tendances (spatiales et temporelles) des substances chimiques toxiques prioritaires dans les Grands Lacs et leur bassin.  L’identification des “nouveaux problèmes” de pollution atmosphérique dans le bassin des Grands Lacs est aussi la responsabilité du réseau.

À l’heure actuelle, le RPGL est constitué de huit stations d’échantillonnage actives.  Deux des sites sont des stations principales du RIDA; Burnt Island et pointe Petre.  Les autres six sites sont nommées stations satellites; Sibley, St. Clair, Burlington, U de T, pointe Pelée, et Rock Point.

Carte des sites d'échantillonnage du Réseau des précipitations des Grands Lacs dans le bassin des Grands LacsCarte du réseau de précipitation des grands lacs

Les stations sont généralement pairées sous-urbaines/rurales et situées aux extrémités opposées du lac afin de permettre des estimations plus précises des charges.  Selon les exigences générales, la station d’échantillonnage ne doit pas être affectée par des sources locales; elle nécessite le courant électrique de 120V, et elle devrait posséder un opérateur dédié et être facilement accessible à longueur d’année.  Les sites ont été choisis d’après leur proximité aux lacs et sont censés être régionalement représentatifs de chacun des bassins lacustres.

La station de Sibley est située dans le Parc provincial de Sleeping Giant sur la rive nord du lac Supérieur.  La station de Burnt Island est située sur la rive nord de l’île Manitoulin sur le lac Huron.  Ces sites sont éloignés des centres industriels et urbains.  La station de St. Clair est située au Centre de recherche sur la faune de St. Clair sur la rive est du lac St. Clair.  Les deux stations sur le lac Érié sont situées à la pointe Pelée et à Rock Point.  La station de pointe Pelée est située à l’extrémité sud-ouest du lac Érié dans le Parc national Pelée, sur la terre ferme.  Rock Point est aussi un parc provincial sur la rive nord-est du lac Érié.  Les stations de St. Clair et de pointe Pelée sont en aval des centres industriels importants et des régions lourdement industrialisées des secteurs de Détroit/Windsor et de Sarnia.  Les sites de Burlington et de pointe Petre sont situés sur le lac Ontario.  La station de Burlington est située à l’extrémité ouest du lac, à moitié chemin de l’escarpement du Niagara, en vue de Toronto et à même la zone d’influence des aciéries de Hamilton.  La station de pointe Petre est située à l’extrémité nord-est du lac dans un milieu rural.  La station d’échantillonnage de l’Université de Toronto constitue la station urbaine canadienne du RIDA.

Échantillonneur des composés inorganiques dans les précipitations au site de BurlingtonÀ chacun des sites d’échantillonnage, un collecteur de précipitation humide seulement est utilisé pour prélever les précipitations humides/gelées. Deux types d’échantillonneur existent.  Le collecteur CMI du type-A recueille les précipitations dans un seau en polyéthylène prélavé.  À la fin de chaque mois civil, l’échantillon est déversé dans une bouteille propre en polyéthylène et le seau est remplacé par un seau propre.  L’échantillon et le seau sont envoyés au laboratoire du MSQE pour le traitement et le nettoyage.  Au laboratoire, le volume de l’échantillon est mesuré, subdivisé, (préservé si nécessaire) et soumis au laboratoire analytique pour les analyses des nutriments, des ions majeurs et des métaux.  La bouteille et le seau sont nettoyés et renvoyés à la station pour la collecte des échantillons.

Échantillonneur des composés organiques dans les précipitations au site de St. ClairLe collecteur CMI du type-B est équipé d’un entonnoir carré en acier inoxydable.  Un cabinet isolé sous l’entonnoir renferme les bouteilles de 4L en verre ambré qui sont nécessaires aux analyses organiques.  La température du cabinet est maintenue au-dessus du point de congélation au cours des mois d’hiver grâce à une chaufferette électrique contrôlée thermostatiquement.  Chaque bouteille à échantillon est pré-remplie avec 250 ml de dichlorométhane de qualité supérieure afin de préserver l’échantillon pendant la période de prélèvement et d’entreposage.  Les bouteilles sont changées lorsqu’elles sont pleines ou autrement à la fin de la période de prélèvement d’un mois. Les échantillons sont conservés à 4oC jusqu’à l’analyse. La liste des substances chimiques rémanentes contrôlées inclut; les pesticides organochlorés, les hydrocarbures polycycliques aromatiques, les BPC, les agents ignifuges, et le SPFO. Tous les échantillons, organiques et inorganiques, sont analysés au Laboratoire national des essais environnementaux (LNEE) du Centre canadien des eaux intérieures (CCEI) à Burlington, en Ontario.

Liste des analytes mesurés aux stations individuelles.  BPC : biphényles polychlorés; PO : pesticides organochlorés; HAP : hydrocarbures aromatiques polycycliques; AI : agents ignifuges; MT : métaux traces IM : ions majeurs; Nuts : nutriments
StationType de StationType échantillonneurAnalytes mesurés
Pointe PetreRIDA Principalecollecteur de précipitation type-A
collecteur de précipitation type-B
BPC, PO, HAP, AI, PFOS,MT, IM, Nuts
Burnt IslandRIDA Principalecollecteur de précipitation type-A
collecteur de précipitation type-B
PO, AI, PFOS,MT, IM, Nuts
Parc Provincial SiblSatellitecollecteur de précipitation type-A
collecteur de précipitation type-B
PO, AI, PFOS, MT, IM, Nuts
BurlingtonSatellitecollecteur de précipitation type-A
collecteur de précipitation type-B
PO, HAP, AI, MT, IM, Nuts
St. ClairSatellitecollecteur de précipitation type-A
collecteur de précipitation type-B
PO, AI, MT, IM, Nuts
TorontoSatellite (RIDA urbaine)collecteur de précipitation type-A
collecteur de précipitation type-B
PO, BPC, HAP, AI
Pointe PeléeSatellitecollecteur de précipitation type-AMT, IM, Nuts
RPOk PointSatellitecollecteur de précipitation type-AMT, IM, Nuts

Le Réseau des précipitations des Grands Lacs est conduit à partir du bureau de monitoring et de surveillance de la qualité de l’eau de l’Ontario (MSQE).  À cet endroit, les chargés de projet, le personnel technique et de terrain coordonnent l’entretien de l’équipement d’échantillonnage et le prélèvement et l’analyse en temps opportun des échantillons.  Les stations situées à une distance importante des installations de Burlington sont gérées par des collecteurs contractuels locaux dont le support et le dévouement sont très précieux au programme.  Bien que plusieurs changements aux sites, à l’équipement et au protocole d’échantillonnage, ainsi qu’aux méthodes analytiques soient survenus, le RPGL possède un ensemble de données unique et extensif sur les contaminants chimiques dans les précipitations pour le bassin des Grands Lacs canadiens.

Les méthodes pour le Réseau des précipitations des Grands Lacs (RPGL)

  • Métaux, échantillons intégrés mensuellement, non filtrés. Ag, Al, As, B, Ba, Be, Bi, Cd, Co, Cr, Cu, Fe, Ga, La, Li, Mn, Mo, Ni, Pb, Rb, Sb, Se, Sr, Tl, U, V, Zn
  • Ions majeurs, échantillons intégrés mensuellement, non filtrés. Ca, Mg, Na, K
  • Chlorure & Sulfate, échantillons intégrés mensuellement, non filtrés.  Cl, SO4
  • Nutriments, échantillons intégrés mensuellement, non filtrés. NO3, NO2, NH3,  N total Kjeldahl, P total
  • Physiques, échantillons intégrés mensuellement, non filtrés. pH, Conductivité

Pour de plus amples informations sur le programme, les méthodes d’échantillonnage, ou pour des requêtes de données, veuillez s’il vous plaît faire parvenir vos demandes à l’adresse suivante : ec.msqeinformation-wqmsinformation.ec@canada.ca.

Date de modification :