Mohawk Island National Wildlife Area

Four Terns on a beach.
Photo: © Environment Canada
Mohawk Island National Wildlife Area - Terns

Description

Two chicks in a nest.

Photo: © Environment Canada.

Chicks.

Mohawk Island National Wildlife Area (NWA) is a small, 4-ha,  sparsely vegetated limestone outcrop located in eastern Lake Erie. It lies approximately 20 km to the southwest of Port Colborne, Ontario, near the mouth of the Grand River. The island consists mainly of open limestone barrens with an elevated gravel bar along the eastern shoreline; it is greatly affected by the strong wind events that frequently overwash the entire island. The sparse vegetation is limited to thin soils found in small depressions and rock crevices. Mohawk Island was once named Gull Island because of the large numbers of gulls and terns that rested on the Island.

The NWA was established in 1978 to protect colonial nesting waterbirds. It is an important nesting site for several species of waterbirds, primarily Herring Gulls, Ring-billed Gulls, Common Terns, and Double-crested Cormorants. The natural features of the island provide excellent loafing habitat as well as refuge from predators, offering easy access to food supply, and having minimal human disturbance for the young nestlings. Populations of the colonial waterbirds at Mohawk Island NWA have been monitored since the 1970s, and are part of long-term toxicity monitoring studies undertaken by Environment Canada.

The island also provides a stopover site for many species of migratory birds, especially waterfowl and shorebirds during spring and fall migration. Waterfowl often seen in the area include species such as Mallard, Canada Goose, Common Goldeneye, and Scaup. Shorebirds such as sandpipers are also often present as they pass through and use the island for loafing and as a stopover site when crossing Lake Erie along the Mississippi and Atlantic flyways.

Although the surrounding area supports a wealth of bird species, there are very few other types of animals present on the island. The sparse terrestrial vegetation offers little cover or food for vertebrate residents. Eastern Garter Snakes live among the foundations of the lighthouse on the island; this is the only other wildlife species reported as surviving on the island. To date, no species at risk have been recorded on Mohawk Island NWA.

More information on Mohawk Island NWA is provided in the summary table below.

Top of Page

Management

Management Plan (PDF; 3.42 MB) (HTML)
Comments on the management plan can be directed to Environment Canada via email, by phone or in writing. Contact information is available here.
Consultation Period: September 17, 2014 to November 17 2014

A lighthouse near shore.

Photo: © Environment Canada.

Mohawk Island NWA, lighthouse.

National Wildlife Areas (NWAs) are protected and managed according to the Wildlife Area Regulations under the Canada Wildlife Act. The primary purpose of NWAs is the protection and conservation of wildlife and their habitat. For this purpose, and according to the legislation, Environment Canada can prohibit all activities in a NWA that could interfere with the conservation of wildlife. Consequently, most NWAs are not accessible to the public and all activities are prohibited. Nonetheless, Environment Canada has the ability to authorize some activities, whether through public notice or the issuance of permits, as long as these are consistent with the management plan goals for the NWA. For more information, consult the NWAs Management and Activities section.

Access to the Mohawk Island NWA is seasonally restricted. Public access is prohibited from April 1 to July 31 every year to protect migratory birds during nesting. Some activities may be permitted in accordance with the conservation objectives of the NWA management plan. Public notices listing the authorized activities are posted at access points. Public access for day use is allowed only between September 1 and March 31 (outside the breeding season) for activities such as bird-watching, viewing the lighthouse, recreational fishing (no lead sinkers) and swimming. Overnight camping, open fires and hunting are prohibited at all times. Mohawk Island NWA is a well-known local landmark and the waters around the island are popular for recreational boating and fishing in the summer months. Fishing must be done in accordance with the Ontario fishing regulations, which require possession of a recreational fishing license issued by the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources. Permits are required to conduct research, surveys and monitoring, and must be obtained from the Canadian Wildlife Service.

More information on access and permitting for Mohawk Island NWA can be obtained by contacting the Environment Canada regional office.

Top of Page

Map of the Area

Map showing the Mohawk Island National Wildlife Area boundaries.

Map showing the Mohawk Island NWA
Long description for the Map

Map showing the Mohawk Island National Wildlife Area boundaries.

Legend / Légende:

National Wildlife Areas
Réserves nationales de faune

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. Mohawk Island National Wildlife Area can also be viewed using Google Maps. Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Top of Page

Summary Table

This table provides summary information for the Mohawk Island NWA
Protected Area designationNational Wildlife Area
Province/territoryOntario
Latitude/longitudeLatitude 42°50'05"N
Longitude -79°31'22"W
Size4 ha (dependent on Lake Erie water levels)
Reason for creation of protected areaIsland habitat is a significant geographic feature in eastern Lake Erie and an important nesting and loafing site for significant numbers and several species of colonial fish-eating waterbirds. Loafing and stopover area for waterfowl and shorebirds during spring and fall migration along the Atlantic and Mississippi flyways.
Date created (Gazetted)1978
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) management category1a: Strict Nature Reserve
Additional designationsNorth American Bird Conservation Initiative (NABCI) Bird Conservation Area 13; within Mixedwood Plains Ecozone, Lake Erie Lowland Ecoregion.
Keystone or flagship speciesColonial waterbirds including Ring-billed Gull, Herring Gull, Double-crested Cormorant, Common Tern and Caspian Tern.
Listed Species under the Species at Risk Act (SARA)None recorded
Main habitat typeLake Erie Lowland
Non-native and invasive speciesZebra Mussels, Quagga Mussels, Purple Loosestrife, Mute Swans.
Additional links

Birds: Mallard, Canada Goose, Common Goldeneye, Shorebirds, Sandpiper.

Amphibians & Reptiles: Garter Snake.

Main threats and challengesIncreasing boat traffic near the island leading to increased wave action, unauthorized public access, and disturbance to nesting birds. 
Management agencyEnvironment Canada (Canadian Wildlife Service)
Public access and usage

Public access is prohibited between April 1 and July 31 except by CWA permit for research and to monitor and maintain infrastructure.

Public access to NWA for day use allowed only between September 1 and March 31. Activities allowed at the island during this period include bird watching, viewing the lighthouse, recreational fishing (no lead sinkers) and swimming. Overnight camping and open fires are prohibited at all times.

Note: If there is a discrepancy between the information presented on this web page and any notice posted at the NWA site, the notice prevails as it is the legal instrument authorizing the activity.

Top of Page

Contact Information

Protected Areas Public Consultations
Environment Canada
15th Floor, Place Vincent Massey
351 St. Joseph Boulevard
Gatineau, QC
K1A 0H3
Email: PA-Consultations-AP@ec.gc.ca

Environment Canada – Ontario Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Protected Areas and Stewardship
4905 Dufferin Street
Toronto, ON
M3H 5T4
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

Réserve nationale de faune de l'île Mohawk

Description | Gestion | Carte de la réserve | Tableau sommaire | Coordonnées

Quatre sternes sur une plage.Photo : © Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. Réserve nationale de faune de l'île Mohawk - sternes

Documents connexes

Description

La réserve nationale de faune (RNF) de l'île Mohawk est un petit affleurement calcaire à la végétation clairsemée s'étalant sur 1,3 hectares (ha), dans l'est du lac Érié, à environ 20 kilomètres (km) au sud-ouest de Port Colborne, en Ontario, près de l'embouchure de la rivière Grand. L'île se compose principalement de landes calcaires ouvertes et d'un banc de gravier élevé le long de sa rive est. Elle est très touchée par les épisodes de vents forts qui la frappent fréquemment en entier. La végétation clairsemée est limitée aux sols minces qui se sont formés dans de petites dépressions et crevasses rocheuses. L'île Mohawk était autrefois appelée « Gull Island » à cause du grand nombre de goélands et de sternes qui se reposaient sur l'île.

La RNF a été créée en 1978 pour protéger les oiseaux aquatiques coloniaux qui venaient y nidifier. Il s'agit d'un important site de nidification pour plusieurs espèces d'oiseaux aquatiques, surtout le Goéland argenté, le Goéland à bec cerclé, la Sterne pierregarin et le Cormoran à aigrettes. Les caractéristiques naturelles de l'île en font un excellent habitat de repos ainsi qu'un refuge contre les prédateurs; elle offre aussi un accès facile à un approvisionnement alimentaire et un minimum de perturbation humaine pour les oisillons. Les populations d'oiseaux aquatiques coloniaux dans la RNF de l'île Mohawk font l'objet d'un suivi depuis les années 1970 et sont visées par une étude de toxicité de longue durée menée par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada.

L'île constitue également un site d'escale pour de nombreuses espèces d'oiseaux migrateurs, en particulier des oiseaux aquatiques et des oiseaux de rivage au cours des migrations du printemps et de l'automne. Parmi les oiseaux aquatiques souvent observés dans la région, on retrouve des Canards colverts, des Bernaches du Canada, des Garrots à œil d'or et des Fuligules. On y retrouve aussi des oiseaux de rivage comme des bécasseaux lors de leur passage à travers l'île, qu'ils utilisent pour se reposer ou faire escale lorsqu'ils franchissent le lac Érié, le long des voies de migration du Mississippi et de l'Atlantique.

Bien que la région environnante accueille une multitude d'espèces d'oiseaux, on ne recense que peu d'autres types d'animaux sur l'île. La végétation terrestre clairsemée n'offre que peu de couvert ou de nourriture aux résidants vertébrés. Des couleuvres rayées vivent parmi les matériaux de fondation du phare de l'île. Elles constituent la seule autre espèce sauvage qui survit sur l'île. À ce jour, on n'a recensé aucune espèce en péril dans la RNF de l'île Mohawk.

Pour plus d'information sur la RNF de l'île Mohawk, consultez le tableau sommaire ci-dessous.

Gestion

Les RNF sont protégées et gérées conformément au Règlement sur les réserves d'espèces sauvages en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces sauvages du Canada. Le but premier des RNF est la protection et la conservation des espèces sauvages et de leur habitat. À cet effet, et selon la législation, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada à le pouvoir d'interdire toute activité dans une RNF qui pourrait nuire à la conservation des espèces sauvages. En conséquence, la plupart d'entre elles ne sont pas accessibles au public et toute activité y est interdite. Le Ministère peut cependant autoriser la tenue de certaines activités, soit par des avis publics ou par l'émission de permis, tant que ces activités sont compatibles avec les buts de conservation du plan de gestion pour la RNF. Pour plus d'information, consulter la section sur la gestion et activités de la section Web des RNF.

L'accès à la RNF de l'île Mohawk est limité en fonction des saisons, l'accès étant interdit au public du 1er avril au 31 juillet de chaque année pour protéger les oiseaux migrateurs pendant la nidification. Certaines activités peuvent être autorisées dans la mesure où elles sont conformes aux objectifs de conservation inscrits dans le plan de gestion de la RNF. Des avis publics énumérant les activités autorisées sont affichés aux points d'accès menant à la réserve. L'accès public à la RNF de l'île Mohawk est interdit entre le 1er avril et le 31 juillet pour éviter de déranger les oiseaux aquatiques coloniaux durant la saison de nidification. L'accès public à la RNF de l'île Mohawk n'est permis qu'entre le 1er août et le 31 mars (en dehors de la saison de nidification). Parmi les activités récréatives autorisées durant cette période, mentionnons l'observation d'oiseaux, l'observation du phare, la pêche récréative (les pesées en plomb ne sont pas autorisées) et la baignade. La chasse est interdite en tout temps. La RNF de l'île Mohawk est un point d'intérêt bien connu dans la région et les eaux qui l'entourent sont très populaires pour la navigation de plaisance et de pêche durant les mois d'été. La pêche est assujettie aux règlements de pêche de l'Ontario, lesquels prévoient entre autres la possession d'un permis de pêche récréative délivré par le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l'Ontario. Il faut se procurer des permis auprès du Service canadien de la faune pour y effectuer une recherche, des relevés et de la surveillance.

De plus amples informations sur l'accès et l'émission de permis pour la RNF de l'île Mohawk peuvent être obtenues en contactant le bureau d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada de la région.

Carte de la réserve

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte montrant la région près de Rock Point dans le lac Érié en Ontario. Les limites de la RNF de l'île-Mohawk sont indiquées. L'aire protégée est situé au sud de la baie Mohawk et au sud-est de Rock Point. L'échelle de la carte est en kms. Les eaux permanentes, les routes ainsi que les autoroutes sont indiquées sur la carte. Un petit encart montre l'emplacement de la RNF dans le Canada.

Cette carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne doit pas être utilisée pour définir les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser Google Maps pour situer la RNF de l'île Mohawk. Notez cependant que Google Maps est une source d'information complémentaire et ne remplace en aucun cas ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Tableau sommaire

Tableau sommaire affichant diverses données sur la RNF de l'île Mohawk
CatégorieInformation
Désignation de l'aire protégéeRNF
Province/territoireOntario
Latitude/longitudeLatitude 42°50'05"N
Longitude -79°31'22"O
Superficie1,3 ha (dépendant du niveau d'eau du Lac Érié)
Raison pour la désignation de l'aire protégéeLes habitats insulaires sont d'importantes caractéristiques géographiques de la partie est du Lac Érié et sont d'importants sites de nidification et de repos pour plusieurs espèces coloniales d'oiseaux aquatiques se nourissant de poissons. C'est aussi une aire de repos et une halte migratoire pour la sauvagine et les oiseaux de rivage lors des migrations du printemps et de l'automne, le long des voies de migration du Mississippi et de l'Atlantique.
Date de création (publication dans la Gazette du Canada)1978
Catégorie de gestion de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN)Ia - Réserve naturelle intégrale
Désignations supplémentairesRégion de conservation des oiseaux no 13 de l'Initiative de conservation des oiseaux de l'Amérique du Nord (ICOAN), comprise dans l'écozone des Plaines à forêts mixtes et l'écorégion des Basses terres du lac Érié.
Espèces vedettes ou pharesOiseaux de mer coloniaux dont : Goéland à bec cerclé, Goéland argenté, Cormoran à aigrettes, Sterne pierregarin et Sterne caspienne.
Espèces inscrites sous la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)Aucune enregistrée
Type d'habitat principalBasses-terres du lac Érié
Espèces exotiques et envahissantesMoule zèbrée, salicaire pourpre, cygne tuberculé et moule quagga.
Liens additionnels

Oiseaux : Canard colvert, Bernache du Canada, Garrot à oeil d'or, Oiseaux de rivage et Bécasseaux.

Amphibiens et reptiles : Couleuvre rayée.

Défis et pressionsAugmentation du trafic des bâteaux près de l'île, accentuant l'effet de l'action des vagues. Accès public non-autorisé. Perturbation des oiseaux nicheurs.
Organisme de gestionEnvironnement et Changement climatique Canada (Service canadien de la faune)
Accès public et utilisation

Accès public interdit entre le 1er avril et le 31 juillet, sauf pour les activités de recherche et de surveillance et d'entretien de l'infrastructure en place, autorisées en vertu d'un permis délivré au terme de la Loi sur les espèces sauvages du Canada.

Accès public autorisé uniquement le jour entre le 1er septembre et le 31 mars. Les activités autorisées sur l'île durant cette période incluent l'observation des oiseaux, l'observation du phare, la pêche récréative (sans lest ou turlutte plombé) et la natation. Le camping de nuit et l'entretien de feux à ciel ouvert sont interdits en tout temps.

Remarque : En cas d'incompatibilité entre les renseignements présentés sur cette page web et l'avis affiché sur le site de la RNF, l'avis prévaudra à titre d'instrument juridique autorisant l'activité.

Coordonnées

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - Région de l'Ontario
Service canadien de la faune
Aires protégées et intendance
4905, rue Dufferin
Toronto, (Ontario)
M3H 5T4
Ligne sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date de modification :