This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Northwest Territories

The Northwest Territories entered the Flood Damage Reduction Program in 1979 with the federal departments of Environment and Indian and Northern Affairs sharing the cost of mapping and designating 9 communities. The 100-year flood is used to define the flood risk area and that area is divided into two zones, the floodway, where further development is discouraged, and the flood fringe where flood proofed development is possible.


Is your property in an area that is subject of recurrent and severe flooding?

If your community is listed below, it is in a "Designated" area. Provide the designation name to the contact when requesting a flood risk map.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Designated areas as subject to recurrent and severe flooding
AklavikAklavikDesignated 1985-0668 12 / 135 00
Fort Good HopeFort Good HopeDesignated 1985-0666 15 / 128 37
Fort LiardFort LiardDesignated 1987-0960 15 / 123 28
Fort McPhersonFort McPhersonDesignated 1985-0667 27 / 134 50
Fort NormanFort NormanDesignated 1987-0964 54 / 125 34
Fort SimpsonFort SimpsonDesignated 1985-0661 52 / 121 23
Fort MacLeodFort MacLeodDesignated 1992-01-1449 43 / 113 25
Hay RiverHay RiverDesignated 1984-0660 51 / 115 44
Nahanni ButteNahanni ButteDesignated 1987-0961 03 / 123 23
TuktoyaktukTuktoyaktukDesignated 1988-0369 27 / 133 02

Program Information

To obtain a map, contact:

Surveys and Mapping 
Department of Municipal and Community Affairs
Government of the NWT
#500, 5201-50th Avenue
Yellowknife, NT  X1A 3S9
Tel.: 867-920-8919
Fax: 867-920-6343
E-mail: Manager, Surveys and Mapping

For more information, contact:

Federal government

Sustainable Water Management
Environmental Stewardship Branch
Environment Canada
Ottawa, Ontario  K1A 0H3
Fax: 819-994-0237

Provincial government

Lands Administration 
Department of Municipal and Community Affairs
Government of the NWT
#500, 5201-50th Avenue
Yellowknife, NT  X1A 3S9
Tel.: 867-873-7569
Fax: 867-920-6343

The information on this page is for reference and education only. We do our best to keep the data complete and up-to-date, but assume no responsibility for any omissions or outdated information. If you require official information, please contact a member of the Steering Committee or the appropriate government official identified on these pages.

Return to: Provincial/Territorial Flood Damage Reduction Programs

Date modified: