Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the Contact Us page.

Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Flood Damage Reduction Program


Overview

The aim of the Flood Damage Reduction Program (FDRP) is to discourage future flood vulnerable development. The federal government initiated this program in 1975 to curtail escalating disaster assistance payments in known flood risk areas, as well as the reliance on costly structural measures. The FDRP is carried out jointly with the provinces under cost sharing agreements. Once a flood risk area is mapped and designated both governments agree not to build or support (e.g., with a financial incentive) any future flood vulnerable development in those areas. Zoning authorities are encouraged to zone on the basis of flood risk. New development is not eligible for disaster assistance in the event of a flood.

More than 900 communities have been mapped and designated, including all major urban centres except the lower mainland of British Columbia, at a cost of over $50 million. Many communities, especially in British Columbia, Alberta, Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia and Newfoundland, have been zoned on the basis of these maps. Where existing development warranted it, other activities such as flood forecasting (Saint John River Basin) and construction of structural measures (dykes in Red River Valley and Montreal) were supported under the FDRP.

To find out if you are in a flood risk area or to learn more about the program in your community, check the listings under Provincial/Territorial Flood Damage Reduction Programs.


Glossary

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Designation

This term defines a flood-prone area that has been mapped indicating the limits of flood risk and, in addition, where the federal and provincial/territorial ministers approve and sign documentation declaring these areas officially as flood risk or flood hazard areas. Designation has the effect of restricting new construction in the floodway if municipalities enact zoning regulations.

There are two types of designations:

  • final designation, which means that all minimum mapping and technical standards were met; and,
  • interim designation, which means that other techniques were used.

Derogation

This provision within the Quebec agreement allows the exemption of a specified area within a designation and permits the building of a specific structure within a designated floodway. Public works such as bridges, pipeline crossings, etc. require derogation. However, in other provinces this type of infrastructure development is automatically exempt.

Effective date

The date when the FDR Program policies come into effect within a designated area.

Flood Risk Area (floodway and flood fringe)

The area that has been delineated as being prone to flooding. The minimum design flood criteria standard is the 100-year flood which is the peak or flood flow with one chance in one hundred of occurring in any given year.

In some provinces, the standards are more stringent: Saskatchewan uses 500-year design flood, with an additional freeboard for hydrologic and hydraulic uncertainties; British Columbia, 200-year design flood, with an additional freeboard for hydrologic and hydraulic uncertainties; Ontario uses the 100-year design flood or regional storm events such as Hurricane Hazel which exceeds the 100-year design flood.

In most designations the flood risk area is subdivided into two zones: floodway and flood fringe. The floodway is the area where the flow is the fastest and most severe and where the potential danger is the greatest. Within the floodway most types of development are discouraged whereas within the flood fringe most types of development are permitted -- on the condition that specified flood proofing measures are undertaken.

Number of communities within designation

Often designated areas represent a length of a river reach and/or lake shoreline as opposed to simply one community. Therefore, it is possible to have more than one community within a designation.

Public information maps/key plans

For every area that becomes designated, public information maps have or will be produced. In British Columbia, key plans (essentially an index map) are produced in place of these maps. These products are for public use. Note that the more detailed engineering maps are kept at local, provincial and federal agencies.


Origins

Under the Canadian constitution, flood plain management essentially falls under the jurisdiction of the provinces, as they are primarily responsible for water resources and land use matters.

The objective of the federal government is to reduce major disruptions to regional economies and to reduce disaster assistance payments. Traditionally this had been achieved by building structural measures to control flooding. In the 1950s, 1960s, 1970s, and to a lesser extent in the 1980s, the federal government allocated millions of dollars, in conjunction with the provinces, to build dams and dykes.

Although providing some benefits, the overall cost-effectiveness of this approach was questionable, since the escalating trend of increased flood assistance payments continued. Projects of this kind are expensive to build and maintain and they are no sure guarantee against disaster. Dykes and dams can be overtopped and channel capacities exceeded making the inevitable flood worse. Structural measures often inspire a false sense of security, thereby encouraging further development in flood prone areas. Moreover this approach, as well as disaster assistance payments, has the general public paying for the benefit of the few who choose to live in known flood risk areas.

Extensive flood damages across Canada in the early 1970s clearly demonstrated that a new approach to reducing flood damage was needed. These flood events were the catalyst for the federal government to initiate the national Flood Damage Reduction Program (FDRP) in 1975 under the Canada Water Act. It represented a significant change in approach from an ad hoc structural response to flooding to a more comprehensive approach focusing on prevention and non-structural measures. It was also more equitable.


Objectives

Flooding is a natural event; problems arise when it causes damages. The non-structural approach of the Flood Damage Reduction Program (FDRP) tackles the root of the problem by discouraging flood vulnerable development and promoting living in harmony with the river's natural regime.

The FDRP, undertaken jointly with the provinces, consists of identifying, mapping and designating flood risk areas, and then applying policies to discourage future flood prone development in those areas. Additional activities may include establishing flood forecasting and warning systems. In addition, some structural controls are supported as long as they are cost efficient and support the non-structural components of the Program.

All provinces and territories except Prince Edward Island and the Yukon participated in this national program through a series of cost sharing agreements. For some provinces this approach was new, while in others, such as Ontario, Alberta and British Columbia, it was an extension of mapping programs dating back, in some cases, to the 1950s.

For details on specific provincal/territorial programs visit the Provincial/Territorial Flood Damage Reduction Programs section of this site.


Agreements

The Flood Damage Reduction Program (FDRP) is carried out under cost shared federal-provincial agreements. Variations exist on how the agreements are drawn up. Normally, a General Agreement outlining the policies of the Program is supplemented by a subsidiary agreement on mapping, with further sub-agreements possible on flood forecasting, structural controls and studies. In some cases, the "general" and "mapping" components are combined in one document and in the case of Ontario, all aspects of the program are in one document.

General Agreement

The General Agreement sets out the basic approach for reducing flood damages and the policies agreed upon by the two governments.

The basic approach is that where flood damage reduction measures are proposed, all practicable structural and non-structural alternatives are considered, including the option of letting some flood damage occur. Effectiveness, cost, associated benefits and environmental impact are to be accounted for in the selection of alternatives. Preference is to be given to measures that prevent flood vulnerable development.

The two governments also agree to map and designate flood risk areas in communities listed in the Mapping Agreement and apply the following policies:

  • They will not build, approve or finance flood prone development in the designated area.
  • They will not provide flood disaster assistance for any development built after the area is designated (except for floodproofed development in the flood fringe); and
  • They will encourage zoning authorities under their jurisdiction to zone on the basis of flood risk.

Mapping Agreement

The Mapping Agreement provides for a mapping program to delineate and designate flood risk areas in which the FDRP policies are applied and to inform the public of the Program. Forming part of the agreement is the list of places to be mapped. Detailed hydrologic and cartographic specifications are also included because of the important economic, social, and legal implications of the Program.

Since mapping by itself is not beneficial unless used, the public information component of the Program is the key to its effectiveness. Public information sessions are held in the effected communities throughout the mapping process. This allows the comparison of technical analysis with local flood knowledge, and ensures that target audiences are aware of and understand the Program and, more importantly, comply with its objectives and policies.

Other sub-agreements

Sub-agreements have covered flood forecasting in New Brunswick, Manitoba and Saskatchewan; structural implementation in Manitoba, Quebec and New Brunswick and other measures and studies in New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Manitoba and Saskatchewan. All these activities have complemented the mapping / designation program.

For details, visit the appropriate Provincial/Territorial Flood Damage Reduction Programs section of this site.


Flood Risk Maps

There are two types of flood risk maps:

  1. Large scale engineering maps usually at a scale of 1:2000 or 1:5000 are used to accurately delineate the flood risk area. They are available for perusal or purchase from local offices or provincial agencies.
  2. Public information maps, with scales ranging from 1:5000 to 1:25000, are used to show the approximate location of the flood risk area and provide the public with information on the Program. They are available to the public.

The engineering or detailed flood risk maps are topographic maps that show contour lines of equal elevation and spot elevation data. The public information maps may be planimetric maps without topographic detail. In addition to cultural features such as roads, buildings, railway lines, etc., both types of maps display the designated flood risk area, the floodway if determined (see Criteria for flood risk area delineation), and occasionally the extent of historic flood events.

Visit the Provincial/Territorial Flood Damage Reduction Programs section of this site, for information on how to obtain or view a specific flood risk map.

Criteria for flood risk area delineation

The federal minimum criterion for defining the flood risk area is the 100 year flood, i.e., a flood that has one chance in one hundred of being equaled or exceeded in any given year. However, the federal government adopts provincial criteria if they are more stringent. For example, in British Columbia the 1 in 200 year flood is used, in Saskatchewan the 500-year flood is used, and in parts of Ontario a "regional storm" or highest observed flood is used.

Flood risk areas are usually divided into two zones: floodway and flood fringe. The floodway is that portion of the river's flood plain where waters are deepest, fastest and most destructive. Future development is discouraged in the floodway due to the likely danger to life and damage to property, and because the buildings themselves, by acting as obstructions, could increase flood levels upstream. Within the flood fringe, where water tends to be shallower and slower than in the floodway, new development may be permitted, provided it is adequately flood proofed.

Designation

Designation means that the Minister of the Environment, on behalf of Canada, and his/her provincial/territorial counterpart have agreed on the area, and an effective date, to which the FDR policies discouraging future flood vulnerable development will apply. To formally complete the process, the Ministers sign designation forms that also note the effective date of designation. The designated area is shown clearly on a flood risk map. In some provinces, the Ministers' signatures and date of designation are applied to a "designation block" on the map.

From the date of designation onwards policies outlined in the General Agreement are applied. For instance:

  • neither government will build structures subject to flood damage in that area;
  • government agencies such as Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation will no longer help finance new flood vulnerable developments there; and,
  • disaster assistance programs will no longer cover losses due to flooding of new developments in the area.

Flood Damage Reduction on Aboriginal Lands

In 1985, the departments of Environment and Indian and Northern Affairs signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) Respecting Flood Risk Mapping of Indian Reserve Lands and Other Lands Set Aside or Held for Indians. Under this MOU, studies have been conducted to identify priority flood prone areas, and 44 mapping projects have been undertaken.


Municipal Collaboration

Local governments play an important role in flood plain management, since they are generally responsible for land use planning and regulation of new development. The FDR agreements require that local authorities be encouraged to zone according to flood risk in designated areas. In some provinces, the local levels of government are required to incorporate flood hazard information into municipal planning through official plans, zoning bylaws, subdivision plans, and flood and fill regulations.


Provincial/Territorial Flood Damage Reduction Programs

 

Map of Canada

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Programme de réduction des dommages causés par les inondations


Aperçu

Le Programme de réduction des dommages causés par les inondations (PRDI) vise à décourager tout aménagement futur sur des terrains sensibles aux inondations. Le gouvernement fédéral l'a entrepris en 1975 pour freiner l'escalade des paiements d'aide versés aux sinistrés, dans les zones inondables connues, comme pour réduire la dépendance envers des mesures structurales coûteuses. Le Programme est réalisé conjointement avec les provinces en vertu d'ententes de partage des coûts. Quand une zone inondable est cartographiée et ainsi désignée, les deux gouvernements conviennent d'éviter d'aménager ou de financer l'aménagement (p. ex., à l'aide d'incitations financières) de constructions vulnérables aux inondations dans les zones en question. Les responsables du zonage sont incités à délimiter les zones en fonction des risques d'inondation. Les nouveaux aménagements ne seront pas admissibles à l'aide aux sinistrés en cas d'inondation.

Plus de 900 agglomérations ont été cartographiées et désignées, y compris tous les principaux centres urbains sauf ceux des basses-terres de la Colombie-Britannique, et ce à un coût supérieur à 50 millions de dollars. Le zonage a été effectué en fonction de ces cartes dans un grand nombre d'agglomérations, surtout en Colombie-Britannique, en Alberta, en Ontario, au Québec, en Nouvelle-Écosse et à Terre-Neuve. Quand les aménagements existants le justifiaient, le Programme a permis d'appuyer d'autres activités comme la prévision des crues (bassin de la rivière Saint-Jean) et la prise de mesures structurales, c'est-à-dire l'aménagement d'ouvrages (digues dans la vallée de la rivière Rouge et à Montréal).

Pour savoir si vous habitez dans une zone inondable ou pour en apprendre davantage sur le Programme dans votre collectivité, consultez la rubrique Programmes provinciaux/territoriaux de réduction des dommages causés par les inondations du présent site.


Glossaire

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Cartes d'information du public ou plans clés

Chaque zone désignée fait ou fera l'objet de cartes d'information du public. En Colombie-Britannique, des plans clés (essentiellement des cartes-index) ont été dressés au lieu de ces cartes. Ces produits sont destinés au public. Veuillez noter que les cartes à grande échelle, plus détaillées, sont conservées chez les organismes responsables au niveau local, provincial ou fédéral.

Date d'entrée en vigueur

La date où les politiques établies en vertu du Programme entrent en vigueur dans une zone désignée.

Désignation

Par ce terme, on indique qu'une zone inondable a été reportée sur une carte où sont indiquées les limites des risques d'inondation. On y indique également que les ministres fédéral et provincial ou territorial ont approuvé des documents déclarant officiellement que les zones sont exposées à des inondations. La désignation a pour effet de restreindre les nouveaux aménagements dans les canaux de crue si les municipalités adoptent les règlements de zonage appropriés.

Il existe deux types de désignation :

  • La désignation finale, qui indique que toutes les normes minimales concernant la cartographie et les autres aspects techniques ont été respectées;
  • La désignation provisoire, qui indique que d'autres techniques ont été utilisées.

Dérogation

Cette clause de l'entente avec le Québec permet de soustraire de la zone désignée des endroits précis et d'y aménager certains ouvrages, dans des canaux de crue désignés. Les ouvrages tels les ponts, les croisements de pipeline, etc., exigent une telle dérogation. Par contre, dans d'autres provinces, l'exonération de ce type d'infrastructure est automatique.

Nombre d'agglomérations concernées par une désignation

Les zones désignées représentent généralement des tronçons de cours d'eau ou des abords de lacs, et non de simples agglomérations. Plusieurs d'entre elles peuvent donc être incluses dans une zone désignée.

Zone inondable (canal de crue et périphérique)

Il s'agit de la zone désignée comme exposée aux inondations. Le critère minimal utilisé pour délimiter cette zone est la crue nominale à période de récurrence de 100 ans, c'est-à-dire le débit de pointe ou de crue dont la probabilité est de 1 % durant une année donnée.

Dans certaines provinces, les normes sont plus rigoureuses : en Saskatchewan, on utilise la crue à récurrence de 500 ans; en Colombie-Britannique, celle de 200 ans, avec une revanche supplémentaire pour les incertitudes hydrauliques ou hydrologiques; en Ontario, celle de 100 ans ou les événements météorologiques régionaux plus extrêmes, par exemple l'ouragan Hazel qui dépasse la crue nominale à récurrence de 100 ans.

Dans la plupart des cas, les zones inondables désignées se subdivisent en deux : le canal de crue et la zone périphérique. Le canal de crue est la zone où le débit est le plus rapide et le plus fort et où les risques d'inondation sont les plus grands. On dissuade les gens de procéder à la plupart des types d'aménagement dans cette zone, tandis qu'on les permet en zone périphérique, à la condition que des mesures précises de protection contre les inondations aient été prises.


Origines

En vertu de la Constitution canadienne, le gestion des plaines inondables relève essentiellement des provinces, qui sont les principales responsables des ressources en eau et des questions d'utilisation des terres.

Le gouvernement fédéral vise à réduire les perturbations majeures causées aux économies régionales et de diminuer les paiements d'aide aux sinistrés. Par le passé, on y arrivait en construisant des ouvrages pour lutter contre les inondations. Durant les années 1950, 1960, 1970 et, dans une moindre mesure, 1980, le gouvernement fédéral, de concert avec les provinces, a consacré des millions de dollars à l'aménagement de barrages et de digues.

Malgré ses avantages, l'approche a une efficacité globale douteuse sur le plan des coûts. En effet, les paiements d'aide aux sinistrés des inondations ont continué de grimper. Les ouvrages en question sont coûteux à construire et à entretenir, et n'offrent aucune garantie absolue contre les désastres. L'eau peut franchir les digues ou les barrages, et la capacité des canaux peut être dépassée rendant les inondations inévitables encore plus catastrophiques. Ces ouvrages donnent souvent un faux sentiment de sécurité aux gens, les encourageant à procéder à d'autres aménagements dans des zones exposées aux inondations. De plus, par l'adoption de cette approche, sans oublier le versement de paiements d'aide aux sinistrés, le public en général est appelé à payer la note pour les quelques personnes qui choisissent de vivre dans des zones inondables connues.

Les dégâts importants causés par les inondations à l'échelle du Canada, au début des années 1970, ont clairement prouvé qu'il fallait trouver une nouvelle façon de réduire ce type de dommages. Les inondations en question ont incité le gouvernement fédéral à adopter, en 1975, un programme national connu sous le nom de Programme de réduction des dommages causés par les inondations en vertu de la Loi sur les ressources en eau du Canada. Plus équitable, le Programme constituait une modification profonde de la démarche, qui est alors passée de l'aménagement d'ouvrages spéciaux en réponse à des inondations (mesures structurales) à une démarche plus exhaustive axée sur la prévention et les autres mesures non structurales.


Objectifs

Les inondations sont des phénomènes naturels : elles constituent un problème seulement lorsqu'elles causent des dommages. L'approche non structurale préconisée par le Programme de réduction des dommages causés par les inondations (PRDI) s'attaque à la base du problème, en dissuadant les gens de s'installer dans des zones inondables et en les encourageant à vivre en harmonie avec le régime naturel des cours d'eau.

Le Programme, entrepris conjointement avec les provinces, consiste à identifier, à cartographier et à désigner des zones inondables, puis à y appliquer des politiques afin de dissuader les gens de s'y établir. Ses activités peuvent aussi inclure l'établissement de systèmes de prévision et d'annonce de crues. De plus, le Programme appuie l'aménagement de certains ouvrages pourvu qu'ils soient efficaces par rapport aux coûts et conformes à ses composantes non structurales.

L'ensemble des provinces et des territoires, à l'exception de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard et du Yukon, participent à ce programme national par l'entremise d'une série d'ententes de partage des coûts. Pour certains, il s'agissait d'une nouveauté; pour d'autres, comme l'Ontario, l'Alberta et la Colombie-Britannique, il s'agissait d'un simple prolongement des programmes de cartographie qui remontaient, dans certains cas, aux années 1950.

Pour plus de détails sur des programmes provinciaux ou territoriaux précis, consultez la rubrique Programmes provinciaux/territoriaux de réduction des dommages causés par les inondations du présent site.


Ententes conclues en vertu du Programme

La réalisation du Programme de réduction des dommages causés par les inondations (PRDI) passe par une série d'ententes fédérales-provinciales de partage des coûts dont les modalités de chacune varient. Habituellement, une entente générale soulignant les politiques du Programme est complétée par une entente auxiliaire de cartographie et par d'autres accords complémentaires possibles sur la prévision des crues, les ouvrages et les études. Dans certains cas, l'entente générale et l'entente de cartographie font l'objet d'un seul document. En Ontario, ce sont tous les aspects du Programme qui sont regroupés.

Entente générale

L'entente générale précise l'approche fondamentale de la réduction des dommages causés par les inondations et énonce les politiques dont ont convenu les deux paliers de gouvernement.

Lorsque des mesures de réduction des dommages causés par les inondations sont proposées, l'approche fondamentale consiste à : envisager toutes les solutions (méthodes structurales et non structurales), y compris la possibilité de laisser certains dommages se produire. L'efficacité, les coûts, les avantages connexes et les répercussions environnementales doivent entrer en ligne de compte dans le choix des mesures, et il faut accorder la préférence à celles qui empêchent les aménagements dans les zones inondables.

Les deux gouvernements conviennent également de cartographier et de désigner les zones inondables, pour les agglomérations mentionnées dans l'entente de cartographie, et d'y appliquer les politiques suivantes :

  • Ne pas approuver, financer ni réaliser des aménagements dans les zones inondables désignées;
  • Ne pas fournir d'aide aux sinistrés pour tout aménagement construit après la désignation (sauf ceux qui font l'objet de mesures de protection contre les inondations et qui sont situés en périphérie du canal de crue, soit dans la zone périphérique);
  • Inciter les responsables du zonage qui relèvent d'eux à procéder au zonage en fonction des risques d'inondation.

Entente de cartographie

L'entente de cartographie prévoit la réalisation de travaux en vue de délimiter et de désigner les zones inondables auxquelles les politiques du Programme s'appliqueront et d'en informer le public. L'entente inclut une liste des endroits à cartographier. Elle précise également les spécifications hydrologiques et cartographiques à respecter, étant donné les répercussions majeures du Programme sur le plan économique, social et juridique.

Comme la cartographie ne présente aucun avantage si les gens n'utilisent pas les cartes, la composante du Programme axée sur l'information du public est essentielle à l'efficacité de toute la mesure. Des séances d'information sont tenues dans les collectivités touchées durant tout le processus de cartographie, ce qui permet de comparer les résultats des analyses techniques aux connaissances locales et de faire en sorte que les publics visés soient conscients du Programme, qu'ils le comprennent et surtout qu'ils se conforment à ses objectifs et à ses politiques.

Autres ententes auxiliaires

Les ententes auxiliaires traitent de la prévision des crues au Nouveau-Brunswick, au Manitoba et en Saskatchewan; de l'aménagement d'ouvrages au Manitoba, au Québec et au Nouveau-Brunswick; de la réalisation d'autres mesures et d'études au Nouveau-Brunswick, en Nouvelle-Écosse, au Manitoba et en Saskatchewan. Toutes ces activités sont venues compléter le programme de cartographie ou de désignation.

Pour plus de détails à ce sujet, consultez la rubrique Programmes provinciaux/territoriaux de réduction des dommages causés par les inondations du présent site.


Cartes des risques d'inondation

Il existe deux types de cartes des risques d'inondation :

  1. Les cartes à grande échelle (habituellement établies à 1/2 000 ou à 1/5 000), utilisées pour délimiter avec précision la zone inondable. Elles sont consultables ou en vente dans les bureaux des autorités locales ou des organismes provinciaux;
  2. Les cartes d'information du public (échelles variant de 1/5 000 à 1/25 000), qui servent à délimiter approximativement les zones inondables et à informer le public du Programme. Il s'agit de documents de diffusion publique.

Les cartes à grande échelle (ou cartes détaillées des risques d'inondation) sont des cartes topographiques qui indiquent les cotes et les courbes de niveau. Les cartes d'information du public peuvent être des cartes planimétriques sans détails topographiques. Outre les éléments anthropiques, comme les routes, les bâtiments, les voies ferrées, etc., les deux types de cartes montrent les zones inondables désignées, le canal de crue s'il est déterminé (voir les Critères de délimitation des zones inondables) et, parfois, le niveau d'eau atteint lors d'inondations historiques.

Pour plus de renseignements sur l'obtention ou la consultation de certaines cartes des risques d'inondation, consultez la rubrique Programmes provinciaux/territoriaux de réduction des dommages causés par les inondations du présent site.

Critères de délimitation des zones inondables

Le gouvernement fédéral utilise comme critère minimal celui de la crue nominale à période de récurrence de 100 ans (c.-à-d. une inondation qui a 1 % de probabilité d'être égalée ou dépassée durant une année donnée) pour délimiter une zone inondable. Toutefois, il se conforme aux critères provinciaux, s'ils sont plus rigoureux. Par exemple, en Colombie-Britannique, on utilise la crue nominale de 200 ans, en Saskatchewan, celle de 500 ans, et, dans certaines régions de l'Ontario, le critère de la « tempête régionale » ou de la crue maximale observée.

Les zones inondables se subdivisent généralement en deux catégories : le canal de crue et la zone périphérique. Le canal de crue est la partie de la plaine inondable (ou plaines d'inondation) où les eaux sont les plus profondes, les plus rapides et les plus destructrices. Les nouveaux aménagements n'y sont pas souhaitables parce que la zone présente des dangers probables pour la vie et des risques importants de dommages à la propriété et que les constructions elles-mêmes, agissant comme des obstacles, pourraient accroître le niveau des crues en amont. Dans la zone périphérique, où l'eau a tendance à monter moins haut et à couler moins vite, les nouveaux aménagements peuvent être autorisés, à la condition de les assortir de mesures convenables de protection contre les inondations.

Désignation

Il s'agit, pour le ministre de l'Environnement, du fait de convenir, au nom du Canada et de concert avec son homologue de la province ou du territoire concerné, d'une zone et d'une date d'entrée en vigueur auxquelles s'appliqueront les politiques du Programme visant à dissuader les gens de procéder à des aménagements futurs. Pour achever officiellement le processus, les ministres signent des formulaires de désignation qui précisent notamment la date d'entrée en vigueur de la désignation. La zone désignée est alors clairement délimitée sur une carte des risques d'inondation. Dans certaines provinces, les signatures des ministres et la date de désignation paraissent dans un « encadré » spécial sur la carte.

C'est à partir de la date de désignation que s'appliquent les politiques énoncées dans l'entente générale. Par exemple :

  • aucun gouvernement ne doit construire, dans la zone, des bâtiments pouvant être endommagés par des inondations;
  • les organismes gouvernementaux, comme la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement, ne doivent plus contribuer au financement des nouveaux aménagements sensibles aux inondations;
  • les programmes d'aide aux sinistrés ne doivent plus couvrir les pertes dues aux inondations des nouveaux aménagements dans ces zones.

Réduction des dommages causés par les inondations dans les terres autochtones

En 1985, les ministères de l'Environnement et des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien ont signé un protocole d'entente concernant la cartographie des risques d'inondation dans les réserves indiennes et les autres terres mises de côté ou conservées pour les Indiens. Le protocole a permis d'entreprendre des études, pour identifier les zones inondables prioritaires, ainsi que 44 projets de cartographie.


Collaboration municipale

Les administrations locales jouent un rôle important dans la gestion des plaines inondables (ou plaines d'inondation), puisqu'elles sont généralement chargées de planifier l'utilisation des terres et de réglementer les nouveaux aménagements. Selon les ententes conclues en vertu du Programme, les autorités locales doivent être encouragées à procéder au zonage en fonction des risques d'inondation dans les zones désignées. Dans certaines provinces, les autorités locales doivent incorporer l'information sur les risques d'inondation dans leurs travaux de planification, soit les plans officiels, les règlements de zonage, les plans de lotissement et les règlements sur les inondations et le remblayage.


Programmes provinciaux/territoriaux de réduction des dommages causés par les inondations

Map of Canada Yukon Colombie - Britannique Alberta Saskatchewan Manitoba Ontario Quebec NJouveau - Brunswick Nouvelle-Écosse Île-du-Prince-Édouard Terre - Neuve - et - Labrador Territoires du Nord - Ouest Nunavut

 

Date de modification :