Skip booklet index and go to page content

Consultation Document for the Proposed Risk Management Measure for the Non-Pesticidal Uses of Tributyltin


Annex A: Summary on the Prohibition of Certain Toxic Substances Regulations

The existing Prohibition Regulations prohibit the manufacture, use, sale, offer for sale and import of the substances listed in Schedule 1 and 2 to the Regulations. Sections of these regulations are briefly outlined below. The full text of the Prohibition Regulations is available on the CEPA Registry website.

Application

Section 1 sets out the application of the Regulations applicable to the toxic substance listed in Schedule 1 and 2 of these Regulations.

Exceptions

Sections 2 and 3 describe the exemptions to the prohibitions that are permitted. It must be noted that paragraph 2(b) states that these Regulations do not apply notably to toxic substances contained in a control product within the meaning of section 2 of the Pest Control Products Act (i.e. a pesticide regulated under the PCPA).

Prohibitions

Sections 4 and 5 set out the prohibition for manufacture, use, sale, offer for sale or import of a toxic substance (listed in Schedule 1 and 2) or a mixture or product containing that substance. It must be noted that section 4 indicates that no person shall manufacture, use, sale, offer for sale or import a toxic substance set out in Schedule 1 or a mixture or product containing any such toxic substance unless the substance is incidentally present.

Permit and Administrative Requirements

Sections 6 to 10 are related to the permit system established to allow the manufacture, use, sale, offer for sale or import of a toxic substance or a mixture or product containing such a substance referred to in either section 4 or 5. Those sections describe conditions of issuance of a permit, revocation provisions, reporting requests, laboratory testing requests, the format of a submission and record keeping. Sections 11 and 12 are administrative in nature.

 
1 Introduction
Date modified:

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Document de consultation : Mesure de gestion des risques proposée pour les utilisations non pesticides des tributylétains


Annexe A : Résumé du Règlement sur certaines substances toxiques interdites

Le Règlement d'interdiction actuel, interdit la fabrication, l'utilisation, la vente, la mise en vente et l'importation des substances figurant à ses Annexes 1 et 2. Divers articles de ce règlement sont présentés brièvement ci-dessous. Le texte complet du Règlement d'interdiction est accessible sur le site Web du Registre environnemental de la LCPE.

Application

L'article 1 stipule que le Règlement d'interdiction s'applique aux substances toxiques énumérées aux Annexes 1 et 2.

Exceptions

Les articles 2 et 3 décrivent les exceptions aux interdictions. Il faut remarquer qu'il est stipulé, à l'alinéa 2b), que le Règlement ne s'applique pas aux substances toxiques contenues dans un produit antiparasitaire au sens de l'article 2 de la LPA (c.-à-d. un pesticide réglementé en vertu de cette loi).

Interdictions

Les articles 4 et 5 décrivent les interdictions concernant la fabrication, l'utilisation, la vente, la mise en vente et l'importation d'une substance toxique (inscrite à l'Annexe 1 ou 2) ou d'un mélange ou d'un produit renfermant ladite substance. Il faut remarquer que l'article 4 stipule qu'il est interdit de fabriquer, d'utiliser, de vendre, de mettre en vente ou d'importer une substance toxique inscrite à l'Annexe 1, ou un mélange ou un produit qui en contient, à moins que la substance toxique n'y soit présente fortuitement.

Permis et exigences administratives

Les articles 6 à 10 concernent le système de permis instauré pour permettre la fabrication, l'utilisation, la vente, la mise en vente et l'importation d'une substance toxique ou d'un mélange ou d'un produit renfermant une telle substance mentionnée aux articles 4 ou 5. Ces articles établissent les conditions de délivrance d'un permis, les modalités de révocation, les exigences en matière de rapports et d'essais en laboratoire, le format de présentation des renseignements et des exigences liées à la tenue de registres. Les articles 11 et 12 sont de nature administrative.

 
1 Introduction
Date de modification :